Loading Events

« All Events

Urban Wildlife: Poetry in Your Backyard

January 12, 2019 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm CST

Youth are invited to join us for hands-on fun, discovery, and exploration learning about wildlife you might find in your own backyard! Get inspired to create poetry about the natural world.

Tuesday, October 2, 4:30-5:30 p.m., Atkinson Library
Wednesday, November 14, 6:00-7:00 p.m., Tippecanoe Library
Wednesday, December 12, 5:30-6:30 p.m., Martin Luther King Library
Saturday, January 12, 11:00-12:00 p.m., Bay View Library
Saturday, January 26, 2:00-3:00 p.m., Central Library
Wednesday, January 30, 4:00-5:00 p.m., Villard Square Library
Saturday, February 9, 11:00-12:00 p.m., East Library
Wednesday, February 27, 4:00-5:00 p.m., Center Street Library
Tuesday, March 19, 4:00-5:00 p.m., Capitol Library
Saturday, March 23, 1:00-2:00 p.m., Mitchell Street Library
Wednesday, April 10, 4:30-5:30 p.m., Washington Park Library
Saturday, April 27, 2:00-3:00 p.m., Zablocki Library
Tuesday, April 30, 6:00-7:00 p.m., Mill Road Library

Details

Date:
January 12, 2019
Time:
11:00 am - 12:00 pm

Venue

Bay View Library
2566 S Kinnickinnic Ave
Milwaukee, WI 53207 United States
+ Google Map
Website:
http://mpl.org/hours_locations/bay_view.php

Coming Soon

Community Poetry Walks
October 2018 – June 2019
Participants will explore the natural world around them through a series of three guided neighborhood walks. Led by a poet and a scientist, participants will both learn about the natural environment and reflect through poetry readings. Locations and topics will vary.

Youth and Teen Poetry Competition
April 2019
The Milwaukee Public Library and the Milwaukee Public Museum will unite their poetry competitions and ask participants to consider the guiding question for Milwaukee’s Field Work project: How do you see the natural world you live in?

The city-wide competition welcomes submissions online and in-person from teens through the month of April. The contest culminates with a poetry slam inviting participants to share their poetry.